About Us

Who We Are 

The Committee of 100 on the Federal City is a nonprofit organization dedicated to safeguarding and advancing Washington’s historic distinction, natural beauty and overall livability. The Committee’s officers, trustees and volunteer members contribute expertise and civic action in the service of responsible planning in Washington. For information and further details about the Committee, please contact the administrator.



The long history of planning for Washington, D.C. and its environs reflects many examples of excellence fully consistent with the visionary origins of the federal city. At times, however, the planning for and orderly development of the city have suffered greatly from lamentable short sightedness and exploitation.

The Committee of 100 on the Federal City was founded in 1923 to sustain the fundamental values – derived from the tradition of the L’Enfant Plan and the McMillan Commission – that give the Nation’s Capital city so much of its distinction, grace, and beauty.

The Committee’s broad range of interests includes parks and conservation, historic preservation, urban design and architecture, land use regulation, environmental protection, and transportation.

To read more about the Committee of 100’s History, click on the button below to view/print the entire PDf document.

Annual Reports

Board Officers

Sheldon Repp



Nancy MacWood

Vice Chair

Pat Tiller


Beth Purcell



Carol Aten

George Clark

Paul Edmonson

Monte Edwards

Alma Gates

Stephen Hansen

Larry Hargrove

Aidan Jones

David Marlin

Laura Richards

Andrea Rosen

Lance Salonia

Kirby Vining

Faith Wheeler


Suzan Aramaki

Frances (Fay) Armstrong

Carol Aten

Amy Ballard

Joseph R. Bender

Sally Berk

Michael Berman

Charles Bien

Brian Blaesser

Kent Boese

Bill Brown

Deirdre Brown

Richard T. Busch

John Capozzi, CPC

May Chan

Judy Chesser

Dennis Chestnut

George R. Clark

Stephen L. Cochran

Stephen W. Coleman

Charles E. Cotten

Bill Crews

Nick Delledonne

Arrington Dixon

Jim Dougherty

Jenny Sue Dunner

Paul Edmonson

John Edwards

Monte Edwards

Barbara G. Fant

Judy Scott Feldman, Ph.D.

Andrea C. Ferster

John Fondersmith, AICP

Alma Gates

Cheryl Gorelick

Stuart D. Gosswein

Eric S. Graye

William Hershey Greer, Jr.

Stephen A. Hansen

Larry Hargrove​

Maureen Cohen Harrington

Erik Hein

Robert Hershey

Edward Hindin

Cornish Hitchcock

Alison K. Hoagland

George Idelson

Naima Jefferson

Aidan Jones

Justine Kingham, AIA

Hazel F. Kreinheder

Antoinette J. Lee

Jeff S. Lee, FASLA

Mary Alice Levine

Anne McCutcheon Lewis, FAIA

Richard Longstreth

Edward W. Lyle

Nancy MacWood

Meg Maguire

Adam E. Maier

​David Marlin

William G. McLeod, Jr.

Hon. Phil Mendelson

Sondra Mills

Lucinda F. Murphy

Jim Nathanson

Richard B. Nettler

Loretta Neumann

Parisa Norouzi

Kate Montague Perry

Caroline Petti

Elizabeth A. Purcell

Shelly Repp

Bill Rice

Laura Marie Richards

Roger S. Rihm

Charles J. Robertson

Andrea E. Rosen

Gail C. Rothrock

Mary Pat Rowan

Claudia Russell

Richard S. Rybeck

Lance Salonia

Elsa M. Santoyo

William Scheirer

Gary Thomas Scott

Anne R. Sellin

Rebecca A. Shiffer

Marilyn J. Simon

James A. Smailes

de Teel Patterson (Pat) Tiller

Joel E. Truitt

Kirby Vining

Susan Volman

Beverley Wheeler

Faith Wheeler

Evelyn Wrin

Past Chairs

Frederic A. Delano*


Owen J. Roberts*


Clifton A. Woodrum*


C. Melvin Sharpe*


Neill Phillips*


Grosvenor Chapman*


David Sanders Clark*


Mrs. James H. Rowe, Jr.*


Mrs. Marion K. Schlefer*


David Grinnell*


Dorn C. McGrath, Jr.*


Tersh Boasberg


Kateri Ellison*


Ann Hughes Hargrove*


Barbara Zartman*


Don Alexander Hawkins*


Laura M. Richards


George R. Clark


Nancy J. MacWood


Stephen A. Hansen


Kirby Vining


Sheldon Repp



Committee of 100
on the Federal City

945 G Street NW
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 681-0225

Donate to the Committee


Donate Now


Washington, DC Weather