2021 Vision Awards

The Committee of 100’s annual Vision Awards recognize a wide range of projects, programs, plans, and the work of organizations and individuals that fulfill our vision of a beautiful and livable city for all people.  Past awardees are distinguished by their accomplishments for neighborhoods, historic preservation, public space, environmental preservation, housing and good planning within the District of Columbia. 

On October 27th, we recognized the awardees listed below.  You can view the awards ceremony at this link:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6VKbwdBJmc.  And a pdf of the printed program can be viewed here:  https://committeeof100.net/download/vision_awards/2021-Vision-Awards-Program-Final.pdf.




 Washington, DC Building Permits Database

Brian Kraft

For originating and researching the Washington, DC Building Permits Database, an indispensable archive on the origins of the city’s building stock for historians, planners, educators, preservationists, developers, property owners, tourism advocates, and the general public.


Crummell School

Empower DC

 For 20 years advocacy to restore the Alexander Crummell School, a District of Columbia landmark and one of Washington, DC’s Most Endangered Historic Places.   The school will now become a vibrant community center and outdoor recreation complex to serve the Ivy City and Trinidad neighborhoods.


Park Morton Equity Plan

Park Morton Equity Team and Council @ Park Morton

For the trailblazing approach to public housing that treats low-income residents as true partners in the redevelopment of their housing, advocates their holding an equity stake in their homes, and ensures residents stay connected to their neighborhoods even while experiencing dislocation.


Abrams Hall Senior Apartments

Walter Reed Assisted Living Project Team

 For the Walter Reed Assisted Living Project, the first District-funded initiative that combines permanent supportive senior housing and assisted living in one facility and provides a scalable model for future assisted living facilities for our city’s most vulnerable citizens.


Transforming Rail South of Union Station

Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation

For Transforming Rail in Virginia, a visionary Commonwealth of Virginia initiative to expand rail service south of Washington, DC’s Union Station, remove a major bottleneck in the regional rail system by building a new Potomac River bridge, separate passenger and freight traffic, and greatly expand regional passenger/commuter rail operations, thus reducing automobile congestion in the District.


 Ann Hargrove Advocacy Award

DC Grassroots Planning Coalition

For engaging more than 1,200 DC residents to affect positively the 2021 amendments to the DC Comprehensive Plan with demands for specific policies and actions for racial equity, land value recapture, and program impact assessments for development projects to ensure racial, economic, and environmental justice. 


Barbara Zartman Award for Planning and Zoning Advocacy

Marilyn Simon, PhD

 For her extraordinary skills in zoning analysis and her long history of advocating for better planning, land use and truly affordable housing in Upper Wisconsin Avenue and throughout the District of Columbia. 


Lifetime Achievement Award

DC Preservation League – 50th Anniversary

Founded in 1971 as Don’t Tear It Down, the DC Preservation League has become a nationally recognized leader in preserving the complex and diverse character of our Nation’s Capital and its unique neighborhoods through tireless advocacy, litigation, research, creative partnerships, funding, and educational programming of the highest caliber.


Lifetime Achievement Award

District of Columbia Public Library System – 125th Anniversary

For an exemplary record of city library building stewardship, design excellence and community engagement in both construction of new libraries and renovation of the historic Martin Luther King, Jr. Central Library and older neighborhood libraries; and for expanding knowledge and literacy throughout our beloved city.