Since 2001, the Committee of 100 has presented its annual Vision Awards to recognize projects, programs, plans, and the work of organizations and individuals that are visionary, innovative, and provide a notable benefit to the District of Columbia.

We gathered on October 18, 2017 for the 16th annual Committee of 100 Vision Awards.  This year’s venue was the First Congregational United Church of Christ, designed by world-renowned architects Tod Williams and Billie Tsien.   The church is located at 10th and G Streets, N.W., in the heard of Washington’s historic downtown.  The awards ceremony was followed by a wine and hors d’oeuvre reception.

The 2017 Vision Award recipients are:


Washington City Paper Logo

The Washington City Paper will be recognized for being one of the city’s most civic and community-minded news resources, with its investigative reporting that exposes important issues and empowers citizens with that information.

The Heurich House Museum will be recognized for its transformative effort to marry an outstanding house museum in central downtown DC with a vibrant series of events and uses that is awakening a notable past to a new generation.

Empower DC Logo

Empower DC and its director Parisa Norouzi will the first recipients of Ann Hughes Hargrove Advocacy Award. for their efforts to enhance, improve and promote the self- advocacy of low- and moderate-income DC residents in order to bring about sustained improvements in their quality of life.

The National Capital Planning Commission (NCPC), the General Services Administration (GSA) and the DC Office of Planning (DCOP) will be recognized for the guidelines that serve as an excellent example of vision, coordinated analysis and planning for any future use of the FBI site.

The Lifetime Achievement Award this year will be given to Committee of 100 member George Idelson George’s indefatigable curiosity and his talent for messaging and communication have led him to decades of accomplishment and fulfillment.

The Barbara Zartman Award for Planning and Zoning Advocacy Award this year will be given to Committee member Laura Richards for her extraordinary commitment to the values of the Committee through work advocating responsible planning and zoning decisions and laws, and her contributions in shaping our city.

Previous Vision Award Winners