

June 11, 2020

Founded 1923

<u>Chair</u> Kirby Vining

<u>Vice-Chair</u> Alma Gates

<u>Secretary</u> Erik Hein

<u>Treasurer</u> George R. Clark

<u>Trustees</u>

Charlie Bien Larry Hargrove Naima Jefferson Aidan Jones Nancy MacWood Meg Maguire David Marlin Sheldon Repp Andrea Rosen Marilyn Simon Jim Smailes Pat Tiller James Wilcox Evelyn Wrin Stephen Hansen, Emeritus

945 G Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20001 www.committeeof100.net info@committeeof100.net Mr. Jeffery P. Foltz
Federal Reserve Board Development Team
FRB-Renovation@frb.gov
FROM: Richard Busch, Member, Historic Preservation Subcommittee Committee of 100 on the Federal City
SUBJECT: Comments on Cultural Landscape Assessment for June 24, 2020 Meeting
Re: Proposed Renovation and New Construction for the Marriner S. Eccles Building and Federal Reserve Board-East Building
Dear Mr. Foltz:

On behalf of the Trustees of the Committee of 100 on the Federal City (C100). I am pleased to voice its strong support for the Cultural Landscape Assessment prepared by the architectural firm Quinn Evans on this project.

The Quinn Evans team has done a masterful job in the thoroughness of its 2volume Character-Defining Features Survey of the interior and exterior of the two buildings under study. Its Cultural Landscape Assessment builds on that survey work and includes a landscaping review going back almost 80 years, and analyses of the contributions that both buildings in this project and their settings will have in a future Northwest Federal Rectangle Historic District. In essence, the Assessment is the recommended foundation on which all the proposed work on these two Federal Reserve Board properties rest. The Assessment, which is well-organized and clearly written, concludes with recommendations in an Historic Landscape Stewardship Plan that provides a blueprint for the Federal Reserve Board to follow in its care of these properties well into the 21st century. The C100 looks forward to the conclusion of the overall review process and the implementation of the Assessment.

Thank you for this opportunity to comment.

Richard Busch

Richard Busch

Cc:	Tom Jester, Quinn Evans architects	tjester@quinnevans.com
	Patti Babin, Quinn Evans architects	PBabin@quinnevans.com
	Catherine Dewey, NPS	Catherine_Dewey@nps.gov
	Thomas L:uebke, Secretary, CFA	<u>tluebke@cfa.gov</u>
	Fred Lindstrom, Assistant Secretary,	CFA <u>flindstrom@cfa.gov</u>
	Lee Webb, Preservation Officer, NCI	PC Lee.webb@ncpc.gov
	Anne Brockett, SHPO	Anne.Brockett@dc.gov
	Christine Ames, SHPO	Christine.ames@dc.gov
	Jessica Unger, DCPL	Jessica@dcpreservation.org
	Rebecca Miller, Executive Director, DCPL <u>Rebecca@dcpreservation.org</u>	